Korean Drama

The Moon That Embraces the Sun

The Moon That Embraces the Sun korean drama

Detailed Information

Broadcasting company: MBC

Official Website : click here

Also known as: The Sun and The Moon / The Moon Embracing the Sun

Genre : Romance, Fantasy, Period

TV Premiere: 2012-Jan-04 to 2012-Mar-08

Director: Kim Do Hoon

Production : Screenwriter: Jin Soo Wan

Main Casts : Kim Soo Hyun as Lee Hwon, Yeo Jin Goo as Lee Hwon (young), Han Ga In as Wol / Heo Yeon Woo, Kim Yoo Jung as Wol / Heo Yeon Woo (young), Jung Il Woo as Prince Yang Myung, Lee Min Ho (1993) as Prince Yang Myung (young), Song Jae Hee as Heo Yeom, Si Wan as Heo Yeom (young), Song Jae Rim as Woon, Kim Min Seo as Yoon Bo Kyung, Kim So Hyun as Yoon Bo Kyung (young).

Running Time per Episode : 60 mins

Total Episodes : 20

Brief Synopsis

Korean drama "The Moon Embracing The Sun" is about a love story between King Lee Hwon and a female shaman, Wol.

Wol was born from a noble family and became the crown princess, but she was entrapped and faced execution. Finally, she lived as a shaman.


- Based on the novel (The Moon That Embraces the Sun) by Jung Eun Gwol (first published December 29, 2005), who is also the author of the novel that Sungkyunkwan Scandal was based on.

- Actor Joo Won was originally cast as Prince Yang Myung, but dropped out of the show due to Ojakgyo Brothers being extended. Actor Jung Il Woo has been replaced for this role.

- Actor Kim Jeong Hoon scheduled to play Heo Yeom but dropped out the series prior to filming due to his album being released early 2012 in Japan. Song Jae Hee has been replaced for this role.

The Moon That Embraces the Sun
The Moon That Embraces the Sun Trailer

Dramas - 1996